Personalised Astrology book

The ruling animals and symbols of all 12 zodiac signs

Our new Personalized Astrology Book has arrived. And it’s not your typical horoscope fare that tells you vague things like ‘expect new opportunities’ or ‘you will go to a place and do a thing’. No. Instead it’s an astrological exploration of the symbols and archetypes that typify the reader’s sun sign. To give you a flavor, here are some snippets from the book, summarizing the ruling animals and symbols of each sign. (And what they say about you.)


Aries: The Ram

In Greek mythology, the story of Jason and the Golden Fleece tells us a lot about your daring and adventurous spirit. In the story, Jason, leader of the Argonauts, overcame all obstacles and dangers to claim the fleece and regain his birthright – a story of heroic courage in the face of impossible odds.

Aries: ruling animal

Taurus: The Bull

To the cultures of the ancient world, the bull was an enduring symbol of fertility and strength. The glyph for Taurus is the bull’s head and horns, representing also the crescent Moon. These images symbolize the organic rhythms of life which flow through anyone born under this sign. 

Taurus : ruling animal

Gemini: The Twins

The essence of Gemini is duality – its symbol is the Roman numeral two. Perhaps you identify two distinct sides to your character, life path or family origins. Your Sun in this sign suggests a role for you as one who has the power to make sense of contrast and difference.

Gemini: ruling animal

Cancer: The Crab

In Greek myth, the crab’s tenacity and humble persistence was honored by the high goddess Hera. The story of the crab is one which highlights this animal’s tenacity and invites us to value the unconscious realm of instincts for which Cancer is a symbol. 

Cancer : ruling animal


Leo: The Lion

This most regal of beasts reflects so many of the finer qualities of your Leo Sun: your fearless valor, your ability to rise to any challenge, and your dignified command of your own energies and of the people and resources around you. You are the hero of your own story, developing within yourself the lion’s inimitable strengths.

Leo : ruling animal

Virgo: The Virgin

The constellation of Virgo depicts the goddess of the harvest, an image of grace, refinement, and useful productivity. You may feel an inner sense of completeness and a gift for self-sufficiency. Although a social networker, you are also autonomous and independent, with the capacity to be comfortable in your own company.

Virgo: ruling animal

Libra: The Scales

The constellation of Libra depicts the scales of justice, an image of cosmic harmony through fair judgement. Your power thus grows out of your interactions with others and the questions and challenges these pose. Relationship is your ground for self-development, paradoxically giving you a true sense of individual selfhood and purpose.

Libra: ruling animal

Scorpio: The Scorpion

For the Egyptians, this most hard-shelled of creatures symbolized the process of initiation into the sacred mysteries, at the heart of which is the deepest of all enigmas, the mystery of life and death. The worldly wisdom and strength gained from surviving hardship or challenge give you the skill to help others empower themselves in their turn.

Scorpio: ruling animal

Sagittarius: The Archer

The mythic image for Sagittarius is an intriguing one, with the lower body of a horse and the torso and head of a man, a reminder that this sign spans two worlds and attempts to unite them. You are always looking for ways to make life better, not just for yourself but for those around you, moved by your inner vision of life as a cornucopia and a belief that there is nothing so perfect that it cannot be improved. 

Saggitarius: ruling animal

Capricorn: The Goat-Fish

Capricorn is often depicted simply as a goat, its name derived from the Latin caper (goat) and cornu (horn). But this sign is also depicted as the rather curious goat-fish or sea-goat, with the body of a goat and the tail of a fish. Thus Capricorn draws energy from the oceanic depths of divine providence and spiritual knowledge, making them manifest in the world as useful products on which a prosperous life can be built. 

Capricorn : ruling animal

Aquarius: The Water Bearer

The Water Bearer is shown pouring water from a jar. Aquarius pours this ‘water’ for the benefit of all, guided by principles of fairness and social harmony. Thus for you, ideals of democracy and human rights are key elements of life. Your sign of Aquarius invests you with skills of polite social grace and inclusivity, focused on the wellbeing of the community.

Aquarius : ruling animal

Pisces: The Fishes

The mythology around this sign involves two very Piscean skills: shapeshifting and rescue. Having your Sun in Pisces inclines you towards romanticism then, both in earthly relationships and through the concept of universal love, perhaps expressed through charitable work or healing gifts. 

Pisces: ruling animal